Murcia Province

Murcia is a single Province — Capital: Murcia.

Murcia’s coast has over 200 beaches and shares two different bodies of water, the Mediterranean and the Menor Sea, which has an outstretched piece of land called La Manga. This region is not only known for its beautiful beaches, which include the Costa Calida (“the warm coast”) but its salt-water lagoon Mar Menor and La Manga del Mar Menor. Murcia is characterised by its ancient history of commerce and agriculture. Its original inhabitants, Iberian tribes, established commercial relations with the Phoenicians and Greeks and later became a Carthaginian colony, then a Roman colony.

The Cities: Murcia: The city of Murcia is described as one of the most beautiful and historic in the country. The city stands on the banks of the river and enjoys all year round sunshine. There is a great deal of Moorish influence in the city, not least of all the impressive city walls.

Cartagena: Cartagena sits on the Costa Calida. It has a wealth of history and beautiful architecture. Cartagena has always been a major port, due to its unique position on the Mediterranean coast and you will see high on the hilltops, several forts and castles.

Food and Cuisine of the Region: Fertile plains provide tomatoes, broad beans, garlic, vegetables, oranges, lemons, dates and pulses for much of Spain. The region’s spicy chorizo sausage is much-loved, as is the local cabra goat´s cheese. Traditional recipes for this region include: pastel de carne – minced meat and chopped hard-boiled eggs in a golden puff pastry, michirones – a broad bean and chorizo mixture, pisto murciano – which uses a variety of vegetables, local artisan sweets, cakes and candied fruits (frutas escarchadas).